• William J Angell
    Have you noticed claims about air "purifiers" reducing the risk of indoor radon exposure? If not, see:
    https://demotix.com/reasons-upgrade-business-with-air-purifier/

Here is the claim from the August 17, 2021 posting by Demotix.com, "
    To reduce radon pollution, the only viable solution is using a potent air purifier. The air purifier can cast out any radon present in the air with the help of a HEPA filter. Thus, you can have safe, breathable air in your business and protect yourself from radon’s harmful effects." Demofix.com is owned and operated by Nebojsa Vujinovic of Serbia.

Of course, radon is not removed by HEPA filtering since the element has no charge.

While I am not a health scientist, I recall research that revealed air filtering increased the unattached fraction of airborne radon decay products that may, in fact, increase occupant health risk.

Any other insights?
  • Ryan Fox
    Ignoring the part about radon, but I assumed an air purifier would filter out decay products from the air. So you're saying instead it will detach decay products or prevent them from being attached? Seems totally counterintuitive to me but if you or anyone else could point me to that research I'd be interested to see it.
  • Chad Robinson
    Bill, I haven't read the original research, but I believe Dave Wilson's name is on the training material that speaks to an increase in the unattached fraction, and I have discussed this topic with him in the past. If I remember correctly, he has been involved in some RDP filtering research.
  • Kevin M Stewart
    Looking forward to the experts' commentary here, but in the meantime, a few items for the discussion:

Here is one study from 1990 that describes the relative effectiveness of air cleaning techniques, but bear in mind the constraints imposed by any experimental conditions lest one generalize too easily to real-world conditions: https://www.osti.gov/servlets/purl/6155991