• Karen Ahearn
    Has anyone seen these Ecosense.io devices that claim they can do a radon test in an hour? My understanding from AARST is that NO test can be valid with less than 48 hours of measurement. This seems like a scam to me. And a dangerous one at that as there are certainly many inspectors who would jump on this.
  • Robert Mahoney
    Yes I have scene them and they stack up well to my $3000 monitor, however they are a non listed homeowner device. Not meant to be used for a professional test.
    We mandate that our clients monitor their radon levels, post mitigation and these devices are great for that. They do have a professional version aswell, but I’m sure you are referring their homeowner use one.
    Yes they do show a value, in an hour, but we don’t mitigate with anything less than a long term test, by a listed device.
  • Bill Brodhead
    Karen. I have been using and testing the Radoneye's for several years. They have a higher sensitivity than the other home radon monitors that allows them to give the 1st reading in 13 minutes and a revised reading every 10 minutes. The 1st reading is typically about 75% of actual result. After an hour they are close to the actual level. Because of their cost and fast response they can be used by radon mitigators to get a quick idea of the approximate radon levels in 30 minutes. We often place 6 of them in the basement of a problem house to try and figure out where radon may be entering the basement. The down side is they must however be plugged in or you have to purchase small 12 volt battery packs to use them as diagnostic tools. They are also sensitive to thoron so you have to be aware of this. There is also no clock or date stamp for the basic model. Their Pro version is fully certified to use for Real Estate testing and has all the typical features. If left in place the hourly data can be downloaded with a cell phone as a text file and converted to spreadsheet. You have to record the time stamp separately.